Share | Julie Dumont on "Lin YiHsuan: Under the Starry Night"

3.11.2020

Lin YiHsuan’s solo exhibition “Under the Starry Night”

In 2019, Lin YiHsuan participated the artist residency program of Projeto Fidalga in Sao Paulo, Brazil. Collaborated with the Sao Paulo-based independent curator Julie Dumont, Lin presented the solo exhibition “Under the Starry Night” after the residency. The show was also a part of the 14th Curitiba Biennial. Julie Dumont, from Brussel, Belgium, founded “The Bridge Project” in 2017. The program seeks to exhibit emerging artists through the organization and documentation of exhibitions and international residencies with partners from São Paulo, Brussels, and New York.

“Under the Starry Sky” can be interpreted as an exotic journal of Taiwanese artist Lin YiHsuan. In the massive world of his graphics, he depicts his feelings of unfamiliarity and the strong impression in his journey to and from Asia and Latin America, particularly recording his stay in Brazil, where he left and then returned to.

Through the whip of his brush, Lin narrates his life and experiences in Brazil in an abstract fashion that is characteristic of his mystical charisma, as if he lures the viewers into a realm that is realistic and built upon graphics. In the journey of this expedition, his graphics of people, animals and objects are manifested from the primitive shapes of arcs and lines as well as colors, enabling him to freely extend his experimental works and yet return to the purist simplicity through his brush.

On his surfaces, dull and prosaic shapes vanish away to bring out the vast peculiar scenes, enabling colors and the construct of graphics to develop. Likewise, stereotypical and primitive depictions of the wilderness resemble his straight and spiraling spread of paint. However, as seen in the negative space of his paintings and in his work “Zero Gravity”, one can see he is greatly influenced by oriental art and the youthful liberty of graffiti. The different color tones and paints fully embodies the exotic world in his imagination. Things like the assorted shadows under the blazing tropical sun, the colorful streets, the blooming plants, and all the other trivial memories, are the exotic scenes which he’s captured.

The images and drawings created with his drawing pen are like a universal medium of language that predominates over any statement of logic. They can explain why he chose to take root in Brazil. The brightness, the softness, the natural color tones, the systematic structure in his works and the chaos of passion could perhaps tell in a nutshell the charisma of Brazil that he experienced. Despite the adversity that any foreign traveler will experience, Brazil will be deeply remembered through the eyes of each and every adventurer visiting from across the oceans.

Integrating oriental and western factor, and combining the abstract and physical forms, Lin YiHsuan uses his brush to depict his objective experiences in Brazil from the perspectives of a nomad, an outsider, an observer and an artist.

He spares no effort drawing out his daily life and memories through his brush strokes, and expresses deep and sincere feelings. The loneliness, yearning, and surprise of being in a foreign country, the epic story of the Odyssey which reflects the meaning of existence for an artist, fill up the world in his mind.

“Under the Starry Sky” is his first art exhibition after his return to Brazil. Through this exhibition, he expects to share his feelings and affections during his distant travel in Brazil, a place that he now sees as his home.

Julie Dumont, independent curator, founder of “The Bridge Project”

分享|茱莉杜蒙談「林亦軒:在星空下」

3.11.2020

林亦軒個展「在星空下」

2019年底,林亦軒到了巴西聖保羅藝術組織Projeto Fidalga駐村,並在駐村結束後發表個展「在星空下」。該展覽與駐聖保羅獨立策展人茱莉杜蒙合作,並屬於14屆巴西古里提巴雙年展中的一個項目。茱莉杜蒙來自比利時布魯塞爾,長期在巴西聖保羅策劃展覽。2017年創立「橋樑計畫」,透過聖保羅、布魯塞爾、紐約的藝術組織與駐村單位匯集全球的藝術家。本次,茱莉杜蒙也為林亦軒的個展「在星空下」撰文。

林亦軒個展「在星空下」可以被視為這位台灣藝術家的異國日誌,在畫面中道出徘徊於亞洲與拉丁美洲兩地的陌生與深刻印象,記錄著他繼離開而又重回的巴西。

透過林亦軒的筆觸,其饒富個人神話色彩的抽象描繪述說著他在巴西的種種生活經歷,彷彿引領觀眾進入一個由圖畫所創造的真實場域。在這個探險歷程中,人、動物、與物的圖形透過最原始的圓弧、直線及顏色呈現,讓實驗性的創作得以自由延伸,但又彷彿透過筆觸返璞歸真。

在林亦軒的繪畫中,平凡單調的形式消失了,取而代之的是充滿想像力的圖像,也延伸了色彩及圖案。同樣的,原始荒野的圖案被似顏料漩渦式的鋪陳,畫的空白處及『零地心引力』般的呈現中,可觀察出林亦軒受到東方藝術及童趣自由塗鴉的深遠影響。不同色調的筆法與色粉塗料完整呈現藝術家的異想世界,如熱帶艷陽的異國輪廓、繽紛的街道、各種綻放的草木、及其他日常細節等,這些都是林亦軒的所捕獲的異國風情。

林亦軒繪筆下的圖樣,好似一種宇宙通用的語言橋樑,勝過任何邏輯的陳述,更可以解釋為何他選擇深根巴西:為了明亮的、柔和的、生動的色調,而作品的組織性與熱情的紛亂,皆具體而微地轉述藝術家在巴西所經歷的迷人之處。在巴西,能讓任何外籍人士都體驗到的坎客生活已深深烙印在探險者的眼神與身軀上。

綜合東方與西方、抽象與形象,林亦軒透過他的畫作詮釋了一位在巴西的遊牧者、局外人、觀察者,也用藝術家的角度陳述主觀的體驗。

不斷地透過其筆觸紀錄日常生活的留影與回想,林亦軒表達出了他深層的思想。在面對異鄉的孤寂、思念、驚嚇、驚奇,及攸關藝術家存在意義的奧迪賽故事時,林亦軒的內心世界均將其情感結構反映於其作品之上。

「在星空下」是林亦軒回到巴西後舉辦的第一檔個展,藉此分享遙遠的巴西意象,及藝術家在一個他現在認定為「故鄉」的 地方所親歷的感受與情感。

茱莉杜蒙,獨立策展人、「橋樑計畫」創辦人